Pulled Beef

1-recipe

Lately, it seems that it either rains or it pours. I was just released from jury duty in time for several other situations to clamor for my attention. I haven’t been keeping up with this blog as well as I would like, as a result. Still, the goal is to be good, not to be perfect. My hope is that things will settle out over the next few weeks, and I’ll be able to strike some sort of a balance.

Today’s recipe is “inspired by” the original, and adapted for a slow cooker. I imagine that it would make a wonderful pulled beef sandwich (as recommended by the original author). Since we’re eating low-carb, I elected to serve the beef bunless with zucchini fries. The onions self-caramelized during the slow cooking process, and made an excellent garnish. Even without bread and potatoes, this is still a delicious meal!

Ingredients:

  • 1 (2-3 lb.) boneless chuck roast, or other lean beef of your choice
  • 2 onions, sliced
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 cup white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 teaspoon Tabasco sauce
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

Directions:

2-cooker

Combine all ingredients in a slow cooker.

Cook on low for 7-8 hours, or until meat is extremely tender.

Pull meat into chunks, and serve with a generous amount of onions.

3-finished

Serves 4.

Click here for a print-friendly version.

2 thoughts on “Pulled Beef

Leave a Comment