Salisbury Steak (Dr. Matthews)

1-recipe_card

This recipe is, I believe, in my grandmother’s handwriting. It has a note in the upper right corner reading “Dr. Matthews”. Dr. Thomas Matthews was my grandmother’s friend and organ performance mentor. I had no idea that they ever traded recipes! He passed away in 1999. I remember attending the funeral with my mother and grandmother. The church surroundings were beautiful, but the music was truly uplifting. For the curious, here is a link to more information about Dr. Matthews’ life and work.

I had never cooked or eaten this recipe before preparing it for this blog post, so I had no idea what to expect. My only previous experience with Salisbury steak was as a mass-produced meal served from a buffet line, and my memories of it were less than pleasant. This recipe, however, has turned me into a convert. It is juicy, flavorful, and absolutely addictive. Thank you, Dr. Matthews, for broadening my horizons.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 pounds ground beef
  • 1/2 cup cream
  • 1/4 cup chopped raw onion
  • 2 teaspoons dried parsley flakes
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/8 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/2 cup red wine (the original recipe suggests Burgundy; I used Merlot)

Directions:

2-combine_ingredients

In a medium bowl, combine the ground beef, cream, onion, parsley, salt, pepper, oregano, and basil.

3-ingredients_combined

This is what the mixture will look like when combined. The texture will be soft, but moldable.

4-form_patties

Form the mixture into 4 oblong patties, about 3/4 inch thick.

5-cook_patties

Fry the patties in a skillet over medium-high heat for 3 minutes, then turn over and cook for another 3 minutes.

6-turn_patties

Remove the patties from the skillet.

7-add_wine

Pour the wine into the skillet, and stir while scraping any remaining seasoning from the bottom of the pan.

8-finished_patties

Allow this sauce to simmer for a few minutes, then remove from heat and pour over the cooked patties.

Serves 4.

Click here for a print-friendly version.

5 thoughts on “Salisbury Steak (Dr. Matthews)

Leave a Comment

