Velvety Peas and Radishes

1-recipe_card

I have found that every time I buy radishes for anything, I always end up with more than I need. They sit in my refrigerator, unused, until I rediscover them a few months later. At that point, they have become a mess of mushy tops and blackened radishes, and are utterly unusable. This particular side dish requires enough radishes to eliminate the excess stock, thus solving my problem. It’s also very simple to make. I don’t use the microwave too often, but it’s just so darned handy when I do.

The original source of this recipe is cited as the Baltimore Sun. I don’t know when it was originally published, but a date on the reverse of the clipping suggests 1992. I made a few alterations to the recipe to serve my convenience: I used canned peas in place of frozen peas, eliminated the excess water, and adjusted the seasonings to produce a more flavorful end product.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup radishes, sliced
  • 1 can peas, drained
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoon white flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried dill
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon pepper seasoning

Directions:

2-mix_vegetables

In a medium microwave-safe bowl, combine the radishes and peas.

Microwave on high for 2-3 minutes, or until vegetables are tender. Stir, and cover to keep warm.

3-mix_sauce

In a 2-cup Pyrex measuring cup, stir together the milk, flour, dill, salt, and lemon pepper.

Microwave this sauce on high for 1 1/2 minutes or until thickened and bubbly, stirring every 30 seconds.

4-finished

Stir the sauce into the hot vegetables.

Serves 4.

Click here for a print-friendly version.

Leave a Comment

