Potato Dumplings

1-recipe

Sometimes I’m not as attentive as I should be. I’m tired or distracted, and for some reason I am not really “seeing” what is in front of me. When I was making this recipe, I read the direction to boil unpeeled potatoes, and my brain interpreted it as “cut up potatoes, do not peel, then boil”. Despite this lapse of concentration, however, I can say that these dumplings turned out great! They have a nice texture, not too tough or tender, and a pleasant flavor. The nutmeg adds a note of depth to the experience.

This recipe is definitely worth making. I do, however, have a few notes to make.

While it is commendable to follow the original directions and use a ricer to create an evenly textured potato mush, I realize that not everyone has one of these obscure kitchen implements. My mother had one, but I do not. From my experience with this recipe, a potato masher will work just fine, as long as you are thorough with the mashing.

I also found that the “drying” step in the original recipe is unnecessary. While a firmer texture would probably be obtained by allowing the riced (or mashed) potatoes to dry out before mixing them into a dough, this is time-consuming and unnecessary. The hydrated potatoes make a perfectly fine dumpling.

Finally, the original recipe states that the yield should be approximately 18 “egg-sized” dumplings from the mixture. Not so! I ended up with not 18… not 20… but 28 generously sized dumplings! While I was pleased with the unexpected bounty, I was making this recipe as a side dish, and I’m still not quite sure what to do with the excess. Perhaps I’ll put them into a chicken soup.

Ingredients:

  • 3 pounds medium potatoes
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup white flour, divided
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

Directions:

2-potatoes

In a large pot, boil the potatoes until they are tender, about 30 minutes.

Drain the potatoes, and allow them to cool slightly before peeling.

3-mashed

Place the peeled potatoes in a large bowl and mash thoroughly, or put them through a ricer if you possess such a device.

Toss the potatoes with the salt and pepper.

4-eggs

Make a well in the center of the mashed potato mixture, and break the eggs into it.

5-flour

Sift 3/4 cup of the flour over the eggs.

6-crumbs

Add the bread crumbs, nutmeg, and parsley.

7-dough

Using your hands, mix the dough until it is smooth and holds together.

8-dumpling

Shape the dough into egg-sized balls, and roll them in the remaining 1/4 cup of flour to coat.

9-all_dumplings

Here is a picture of the dumplings, post-rolling.

In a large pot, bring 3 quarts of lightly salted water to a boil, and reduce the heat.

10-boiling

Drop in approximately 8-10 dumplings at one time, or enough to fit in the pot comfortably.

11-rising_to_top

After the dumplings rise to the surface, boil gently for 2 minutes.

Remove the dumplings from the boiling water, and allow to drain on paper towels.

Serve as a side dish or in a soup.

12-finished

Makes 28 dumplings.

Click here for a print-friendly version.

2 thoughts on “Potato Dumplings

Leave a Comment

