Sweet and Sour Chicken

1-recipe_card

The attentive reader may notice a discrepancy between the title of this blog post and the title of the original recipe card. I have retitled this meal for a very good reason: the recipe here has as much to do with barbecue as this blog does with professional basketball. I was suspicious when I read the ingredients, and my concerns were confirmed when I tasted the sauce-in-progress. To put it plainly: this ain’t barbecue. Not in any sense of the word. It is, however, a pretty decent basic chicken in sweet and sour sauce; I put some white rice on the side, retitled the recipe, and felt better about the whole thing.

I made one other fairly substantial alteration when cooking this meal. The original recipe makes two casseroles of 4 servings each, which then become freezer-dwelling convenience meals. I have a very small freezer, and my casserole dish will not fit in it. So, I halved the recipe, and made one casserole only. The ingredients and directions below reflect my actions, and will generate one meal.

The sauce is good. I can’t deny that. It’s just not a barbecue sauce. I might or might not make this recipe again in the future… it does make a huge amount of food, and the food is good, but it simply isn’t what I was looking for. Oh well: you win some, you lose some. :)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/2 pounds bone-in chicken pieces
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup celery, chopped
  • 1/2 cup green pepper, chopped
  • 1 (14-ounce) bottle ketchup
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons brown sugar

Directions:

2-flour

In a medium bowl, combine the flour and the salt.

3-breading

Coat the chicken pieces in the flour mixture.

In a large skillet (I ended up changing over to my wok, because it is larger) heat the oil over medium heat.

4-brown

Brown the chicken pieces, a few at a time, and remove from the skillet.

5-onions

Pour off all but 2 tablespoons of the oil, and use the remainder to sauté the onion until golden brown.

6-add_others

Add the celery, green pepper, ketchup, water, Worcestershire sauce, and brown sugar, and mix well.

7-readd_chicken

Add the chicken to the sauce, and turn to coat.

8-cover

Cover, reduce the heat to low, and cook for 20 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

9-casserole

In a 13” x 9” casserole dish, arrange the chicken pieces, and pour over the sauce.

Cover the dish with foil and bake for 30-40 minutes, or until the internal temperature of the chicken reaches 165 degrees Fahrenheit.

Serve on a bed of white rice.

10-finished

Serves 4.

Click here for a print-friendly version.

Leave a Comment

