Spiced Tea

1-recipe_1 2-recipe_2

It’s always a good sign when I find more than one copy of a recipe. Here, I have one copy typed by my great-grandmother, and one hand-written copy from my grandmother. I am thankful for the duplication, as the typed copy has begun to disintegrate, and a few crucial pieces of information are missing from its card as a result.

I made a few small modifications to the procedure. I have an electric kettle, so I chose to boil the juice and spices together in a large pot rather than in said kettle. In addition, I do not own a pitcher specifically made of crockery or earthenware, but I do own a good-sized earthenware teapot. It worked quite well for steeping the tea. As the Marines would say: improvise, adapt, and overcome.

I’m quite pleased with the end result: this drink recipe is certainly worth keeping around! The flavor is sweet and tangy, almost like an orange-flavored hard candy. The tea is delicious hot or iced, and mixes well with spiced rum for a more adult beverage. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups white sugar
  • 1 quart water
  • Juice of 3 lemons
  • Juice of 3 oranges
  • 1 tablespoon whole cloves
  • 1/2 cup tea leaves
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon allspice
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg

Directions:

3-boil

In a large pot, mix together the sugar, water, lemon juice, orange juice, and whole cloves, and bring to a boil.

5-tea_leaves

Place the tea leaves into a large teapot or earthenware pitcher.

4-spice_bag

Tie the cinnamon, allspice, and nutmeg up in a bag. I used a teabag and a piece of thread: feel free to improvise as needed.

Pour the boiled juice mixture over the tea leaves, and add the bag of spices.

6-steep

Cover, and let steep for 3 hours.

7-strain

Strain the mixture, and add enough water to make 1 gallon.

Can be enjoyed hot or cold.

8-finished

Click here for a print-friendly version.

One thought on “Spiced Tea

  1. Pingback: URL

Leave a Comment

