Favorite Caramel Corn

1-recipe

As promised: I deliver. :)

I haven’t had this particular snack for at least 10 years. My mother used to make it when I was a kid, but somehow I never really got around to making it for myself after I became independent. That’s one of the wonderful things about living with another person: it gives me an excuse to make all sorts of delicious things.

There are a few “secrets” to this recipe. When I’m making popcorn for this, I do it the old-fashioned way. I pop it in a skillet on the stove, using butter-flavored Crisco as the oil. It beats the daylights out of any microwave popcorn I’ve ever had. Also, when heating the sugar mixture, use very low heat and go slowly! Stirring is not allowed, as it will disturb the forming foam, but you can slide the mixture around a bit in the skillet to make sure that it does not stick. Be patient: this may take a few minutes, but the result is absolutely worth it.

The pictures shown in this post are for a double batch, but the quantities listed are from the original recipe, which makes 1 batch. Feel free to scale this recipe up as needed: it works great.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 tablespoon light corn syrup
  • 1 cup light brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 4 cups popped corn

Directions:

2-butter_corn_syrup

In a large skillet, melt the butter and corn syrup together over medium heat, and stir until well blended.

3-add_sugar

Add the brown sugar, and stir until smooth.

4-foam

Reduce the heat to low, and heat the mixture without stirring until it is all boiling foam.

Allow the foamy mixture to boil for 2 minutes.

5-stir

Add the popped corn all at once, stirring to coat all kernels.

6-cool

Spread the coated corn onto greased cookie sheets, and allow to cool.

7-finished

Enjoy!

Click here for a print-friendly version.

Leave a Comment

