White Sangria

1-recipe

It’s starting to warm up where I am, and I feel like I’ve lost track of time a bit. Wasn’t it February just last week? Spring has sprung, and in honor of that fact, I’m posting one of my favorite visual puns ever:

om20030423

The days are longer, the weather is pleasant, and it’s a great time to sit outside with a pitcher of White Sangria. This is a truly civilized and enjoyable beverage, and the preparation is effortless. Combine ingredients, chill, serve, and enjoy the mellow. What more could one want?

The original directions instruct one to slice the various fruits without peeling them. I chose to peel my fruits and section them, because it is easier for me to remove the seeds. In retrospect, following the original directions would have resulted in a more attractive presentation: if I were providing this for a spring soirée, I would certainly slice without peeling. However, you may use whichever method you prefer. Additionally, if peaches are difficult to find due to being out of season, substitute one small can of peaches canned in water. The sangria will be just as good!

Ingredients:

  • 1 peach, peeled, pitted and sliced
  • 1 orange, peeled and sliced
  • 1/2 lemon, peeled and sliced
  • 2 12-inch stalks fresh mint
  • 750 milliliters fruity, light white wine (I used Barefoot’s Pinot Grigio, and it worked great)
  • 2 cups sweet lemonade
  • 4 ounces triple sec

Directions:

2-mixture

Mix together all ingredients in a large pitcher, and refrigerate for several hours, or until thoroughly chilled.

Stir and serve: ice is optional, but permitted.

Click here for a print-friendly version.

Leave a Comment

