Southwest White Chili

1-recipe

I played with this recipe a little bit as I was making it. I began by adjusting the quantity of beans: my supermarket didn’t carry 19-ounce cans, and I felt a bit silly leaving half a can of beans sitting in the refrigerator. This led to me increasing the amount of green chiles (wouldn’t want that flavor to be weak), adding more onion, and increasing the amount of spices. I’m very happy with the result, and I think I’ll keep the rewrite. This chili is a win in my book!

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 1/2 pounds boneless skinless chicken breast, cubed
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 2 (4-ounce) cans chopped green chiles
  • 2 (15-ounce) cans white kidney beans, drained
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon chopped cilantro
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 2 green onions, sliced
  • Sour cream to garnish

Directions:

2-chicken

In a large skillet over medium heat, saute the chicken and onion in the olive oil for 4-5 minutes.

3-broth

Add the chicken broth, green chiles, beans, garlic powder, cumin, oregano, cilantro, and red pepper, and reduce the heat to low.

Simmer for 2-3 hours, adding water as necessary.

4-finished

Serve topped with sour cream and green onions.

Serves 4-6.

Click here for a print-friendly version.

1 thought on “Southwest White Chili

Leave a Comment